Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews: Week of Oct. 16, 2021

Jake's Take Bitmoji
Welcome to the latest edition of “Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews.” (Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

Welcome to the latest edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews. We have a lot of new music to unpack, so let’s get this party started.

AJ Mitchell’s Skyview is finally out! (Album cover property of Epic Records)

Skyview by AJ Mitchell 

Jake’s Take friend AJ Mitchell FINALLY dropped his full-length album: Skyview! Executive produced by Mike Dean, Skyview showcases why AJ Mitchell could be one of his generation’s leaders in pop music. There are lots of radio and streaming-friendly singles such as “Stop” and “Heaven’s Gate” along with his classic 2018 anthem: “Slow Dance,” which features fellow breakout star, Ava Max. I believe that AJ’s fans would be delighted with Skyview, and there are blue skies ahead for this rising pop star. A- 

Tracks to Download: “Stop,” “Heaven’s Gate,”  “Cheap Red Wine,” “Lovers on the Moon,” & “Slow Dance.”

Brandi Carlile’s In These Silent Days continues to set the standard for the music industry. (Album cover property of Low Country Sound & Elektra Records)

In These Silent Days by Brandi Carlile

Over the past two years, singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile won six Grammys and became a darling of the Americana and country singer-songwriter genre. The Highwomen co-founder released her seventh studio album. In These Silent Days reunited with her longtime collaborators: Tim and Phil Hanseroth, Dave Cobb, and Shooter Jennings, to create her sound. I continue to be in awe with her vocals and her innate storytelling.  In These Silent Days cements Brandi Carlile as one of the modern music industry’s critical recording artists. 

Tracks to Download: “Right on Time,” “This Time Tomorrow,” “Broken Horses,” “Sinners, Saints and Fools,” & “Throwing Good After Bad.”

Coldplay’s Music of the Spheres features an all-star group of collaborators such as BTS, Max Martin & Selena Gomez. (Album cover property of Parlophone Records Limited)

Music of the Spheres by Coldplay 

For over 20 years, Coldplay (Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman, Will Champion, and creative director Phil Harvey) have entertained world audiences with great anthems and influential live shows. Now, the group released their ninth studio album: Music of the Spheres. Pop music hitmaker Max Martin co-wrote many of the tracks along with the guys and co-produced the album with Oscar Holter, Bill Rahko, and Rik Simpson. Music of the Spheres is a roller coaster ride that ranges from the up-tempo “Higher Power” and BTS collaboration “My Universe” to the emotional “Let Somebody Go” (with Selena Gomez) and “Human Heart” (with We Are King and Jacob Collier). It is an out-of-this-world album. 

Tracks to Download: “Higher Power,” “Let Somebody Go,” “Human Heart,” & “My Universe.”

“Easy on Me” by Adele

Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Adele released her first single in six years: “Easy On Me.” Co-written with her longtime collaborator, Greg Kurstin, Adele weaves a beautiful but heartbreaking tale about her tragic past. “Easy on Me” gave me goosebumps! B+ 

“Amazing Grace”/”Up to the Mountain” by Branden + James 

Jake’s Take friends Branden + James released a new mash-up. The duo brought together the classic gospel hymn “Amazing Grace” and the soulful “Up to the Mountain.” Branden’s voice soared as James weaved his cello arrangement. What a beautiful song, gentlemen! A- 

“Does He Love You?” by Reba McEntire featuring Dolly Parton

For the first time in their respective careers, Reba and Dolly recorded a duet together! The two country music icons tackled Reba’s 1993 hit: “Does He Love You?” This recording is a true master class performance. A+

Head to the next page to check out this edition of Jake’s Take’s Artists to Watch!

Pages: 1 2

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar