JT’s Music Reviews: Week of May 6, 2022 (Albums Only)

Jake's Take Bitmoji
Welcome to the latest edition of “Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews” for May 2022. (Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

Welcome to the latest edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews! This time around, I decided to go exclusively with albums and extended plays (EPs). We got a lot of new music to unpack, so let’s get this party started!

Frankie Zulferino’s Growing Pains – EP cements his status as one of the hardest working performers in the music industry. (Album cover property of SLK Entertainment)

Growing Pains – EP by Frankie Zulferino 

Jake’s Take friend Frankie Zulferino dropped his latest extended play: Growing Pains. There are four tracks – one live recording and three studio recordings. The entertainer continues his blockbuster journey to superstardom with these four tracks that have already ignited the Z-Mob (Frankie’s superfans). Growing Pains – EP does have the potential to conquer the pop charts this year. Bravo, Frankie! B+ 

Tracks to Download: “Stuck On You,” “Sleeping With a Stranger,” & “On My Way.”

Kehlani’s Blue water road might be on several Best of 2022 listicles. (Album cover property of Atlantic Records Group)

Blue water road by Kehlani 

Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Kehlani dropped her third studio album: Blue water road. Songwriters and producers Pop Wansel, Happy Perez, Nija Charles, Wesley Singerman, and Anthony Clemons, Jr. were among the creatives that assisted the “Nights Like This” performer with the recording process. Blue water road showcases Kehlani’s superb next chapter in her music career with mature songs and wonderful collaborations with Jessie Reyez (“More Than I Should”) and Justin Bieber (“Up at Night”). I believe that Blue water road will be in significant conversations when it is time to come up for the 2023 awards season and the 2022 End of Year listicles. A- 

Tracks to Download: “Little Story,” “Wish I Never,” “Up at Night,” “More Than I Should,” & “Tangerine.”

Miranda Lambert’s Palomino is one of her best records of her career. (Album property of Vanner Records/Sony Music Entertainment)

Palomino by Miranda Lambert

Palomino is Miranda Lambert’s first solo album in three years. Her ninth record marks the first time that she co-produced her album. Luke Dick, Jon Randall, and Mikey Reaves assisted “The House That Built Me” singer-songwriter in the production process, while Dick, Randall, and The Highwomen’s Natalie Hemby helped with the co-writing process. Palomino features the B-52’s on “Music City Queen,” a superb ode to Nashville. It also features a cover of Sir Mick Jagger’s 1993 song “Wandering Spirit.” Palomino is an excellent album and is one of Miranda’s best solo outings. B+/A- 

Tracks to Download: “Actin’ Up,” “Geraldine,” “Music City Queen,” “Wandering Spirit,” & “I’ll Be Lovin’ You.”

Ndlovu Youth Choir’s Grateful is a powerful album and one of my favorite records of 2022. (Album cover property of Sony Music Entertainment Africa)

Grateful by Ndlovu Youth Choir 

It is hard to believe that Ndlovu Youth Choir made its international debut four years ago on America’s Got Talent. The Season 14 finalists have been on a roll as they dropped their third studio album with Sony Music Africa. Grateful includes its familiar elements from their previous albums of moving cover songs (The Greatest Showman’s “A Million Dreams,” Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror,” and Adele’s “Easy on Me”). The choir incorporated powerful original music and welcomed featured artists 25K, Tyler ICU, and the National Youth Choir of Great Britain. Grateful continues to cement Ndlovu Youth Choir’s place in world music. A

Tracks to Download: “Afrika Hey,” “Man in the Mirror,” “Easy on Me,” “Forever,” & “A Million Dreams.”

K-pop sensation PSY will make everyone dance with his ninth studio album. (Album cover property of Dreamus)

Psy 9th by PSY 

Before BTS and Monsta X invaded the United States, South Korean singer PSY brought K-pop into the music conversation with the viral sensation: “Gangnam Style.” Nearly a decade after its release, PSY returned with his ninth studio album: Psy 9th. The “Gentleman” performer and his production team did a superb job crafting catchy radio and streaming service-ready playlists. They also did a great job introducing newer K-pop fans to some of the genre’s established artists, such as Sung Si Kyung, Hwasa, Crush, and BTS’s Suga. B+ 

Tracks to Download: “That That,” “Celeb,” “You Move Me,”& “Now.”

Willie Nelson’s A Beautiful Time celebrates the country music legend’s career. (Album property of Sony Music Records)

A Beautiful Time by Willie Nelson

Country music legend Willie Nelson released his SEVENTY-SECOND solo studio album: A Beautiful Time. The album features five songs co-penned by the “On the Road Again” singer-songwriter and a plethora of superstar collaborators such as Chris Stapleton, Shawn Camp, Buddy Cannon, and Scotty Emerick. A Beautiful Time also features Mr. Nelson’s interpretation of Leonard Cohen’s “Tower of Song” and the Beatles classic “With a Little Help from My Friends.” The self-reflective album by the 10-time Grammy-winning artist showcases why the “Always on My Mind” performer is a true American icon and country music’s gold standard. A-

Tracks to Download: “I’ll Love You till the Day I Die,” “I Don’t Go to Funerals,” “Dusty Bottles,” “Tower of Song,” & “With A Little Help from My Friends.”

Please consider heading to PayPal to help support my platform and keep Jake’s Take running!


  1. Carmen Fletcher says

    Thank You for supporting Frankie Zulferino. He’s a phenomenal indie artist that works his ass off 24/7 to make his dream come true. Always stellar work done by this Superstar.

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar