Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews: Week of Feb. 12, 2021

Jake's Take Bitmoji
Welcome to the latest edition of “Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews.” (Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

Welcome to the latest edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews! We have a lot of music to unpack, so let’s get this party started!

In all honesty, there is nothing innovative about Florida Georgia Line’s Life Rolls On. (Album cover property of Big Machine Records)

Life Rolls On by Florida Georgia Line

Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley celebrated their tenth-anniversary last year as Florida Georgia Line. Millions of albums later, the duo is one of the top bro-country acts in the music industry. Their fifth album, Life Rolls On, contains songs that were leftovers from their previous records. “Beer:30” and “New Truck” sound like tracks for Morgan Wallen or Sam Hunt, not an established act like Florida Georgia Line. I am afraid that if Brian and Tyler do not evolve or mature their sound, they will dig themselves into a corner and fade into obscurity. D+

Tracks to Download: “Second Guessing,” & “U.S. Stronger.”

Pentatonix’s The Lucky Ones is an album full of superb original material. (Album cover property of Sony Music/RCA Records)

The Lucky Ones by Pentatonix

Ten years ago, Pentatonix rejuvenated America’s interest in A cappella music. The group’s second incarnation (Scott Hoying, Mitch Grassi, Kirsten Maldonado, Kevin Olusola, and Matt Sallee) released the group’s eighth studio album: The Lucky Ones. The album marked the group’s second venture into a full-length album containing original music following their 2015 self-titled album. Pentatonix turned to a plethora of music’s top songwriters such as Ross Golan, Jon Bellion, Johan Carlsson, and Matthew Koma to help them co-pen these impeccable tracks. Congratulations on your anniversary, Pentatonix! Here’s to ten more great years! A+

Tracks to Download: “Happy Now,” “Love Me When I Don’t,” “Be My Eyes,” “The Lucky Ones,” & “A Little Space.”

Robin Thicke’s On Earth, and in Heaven is his first studio album in seven years. (Album cover property of Lucky Music & EMPIRE)

On Earth, and in Heaven by Robin Thicke

Thanks to The Masked Singer, the “Blurred Lines” singer-songwriter’s Q-score rose, and now for the first time in seven years, Robin Thicke dropped an album. On Earth, and in Heaven is an 11-track studio album that includes “Lucky Star,” a track People reported that is dedicated to his late father – Alan Thicke. It also includes “Take Me Higher,” a collaboration with “Blurred Lines” collaborator Pharrell Williams. On Earth, and in Heaven is leagues above Paula and puts the “Give It 2 U” singer back on top in the R&B world. B+ 

Tracks to Download: “Lucky Star,” “Lola Mia,” “Take Me Higher,” & “Out of My Mind.”

Rapper Cardi B prepared audiences for her upcoming sophomore album with her single: “Up.” (Music video property of Atlantic Records)

“Up” by Cardi B

Rapper Cardi B dropped her latest single: “Up.” Once again, Cardi B’s firecracker raps blew me away as she rapped the lyrics that Cardi B co-wrote with Edis Selmani, Jordan Thorpe, DJ SwanQo, and Sean Island. Both DJ SwanQo and Sean Island did a phenomenal job with the production, and “Up” sets up Cardi B’s sophomore album perfectly. A- 

Dan + Shay’s “Glad You Exist” is definitely one of my favorite songs of 2021! (Music video property of Warner Nashville)

“Glad You Exist” by Dan + Shay

Dan Smyers and Shay Mooney, thank you for writing such a beautiful track! “Glad You Exist” is a song that I believe that everyone needs to hear right now. This song joined “From The Ground Up” and “Keeping Score” in the duo’s pantheon of fabulous songs! A+

The Cast of Rock Me Amadeus showcased their latest mash-up: Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” and Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’.” (Music video property of Rock Me Amadeus)

“Ode to Believin’” by the Cast of Rock Me Amadeus 

The cast of the upcoming concert event, Rock Me Amadeusgave another preview of their massive event with another selection from their show. “Ode to Believin’” is a mash-up of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” and Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’,” and it is a beautiful song from start to finish. I loved the arrangement, and all of the featured vocalists (Alyson Cambridge, Chloe Lowery, Toby Rand, Victor Ryan Robertson, and Kia Warren) delivered spectacular vocals. A 

Head to the second page for this edition of Jake’s Take’s Artists to Watch.

Pages: 1 2

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar