Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews: Week of September 6, 2019

Jake's Take Bitmoji
Welcome to the latest edition of “Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews.” (Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

 By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

Welcome to the very first September edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews. We got a lot of music to get to so, let’s get this party started!

The Highwomen will electrify country music fans with their powerful debut album. (Album cover property of Elektra Records)

The Highwomen by the Highwomen

Four of country music’s biggest voices came together to form a new supergroup. Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hembly, Maren Morris, and Amanda Shires are the Highwomen. The quartet dropped their first self-titled album. I truly believe that the Highwomen are going to change the country music industry by showcasing that four impeccable women can brilliantly blend their top attributes together in song. A plethora of Nashville’s top names such as Miranda Lambert, Lori McKenna, Ray LaMontagne, Sheryl Crow, and Yola Carter assisted them with their efforts. I hope that the Highwomen are here to stay! A-

Tracks to Download: “Redesigning Women,” “Crowded Table,” “If She Ever Leaves Me,” & “My Only Child.”

Lindsey Stirling introduced music fans to Artemis. (Album cover property of Lindseystromp Records & BMG Rights Management)

Artemis by Lindsey Stirling

I have been a longtime admirer of Lindsey Stirling’s music. Ever since she auditioned on the America’s Got Talent stage, Lindsey’s impeccable artistry has captured my attention.  She transported listeners to a hybrid world of anime and Greek mythology and is home to Artemis. This gorgeous album is worthy of an animated adaptation that should be streamed on Netflix or Hulu. Lindsey’s arrangement process and outstanding instrumentation makes Artemis one of her best records that she has recorded so far in her career. A+

Tracks to Download: “Artemis,” “Between Twilight,” “Foreverglow,” “Love Goes On & On,” & “The Upside.”

Post Malone continues his run in the music industry with his impeccable Hollywood’s Bleeding. (Album cover property of Republic Records)

Hollywood’s Bleeding by Post Malone

Singer-rapper Post Malone released his third album: Hollywood’s Bleeding. The tattooed performer has amassed a following thanks to his fans and collaborations with Kehlani, Nicki Minaj, Ty Dolla $ign, and Justin Bieber. Hollywood’s Bleeding definitely follows up with the same successful formula that Post found with last year’s Beerbongs & Bentleys. Longtime collaborators Louis Bell and Brian Lee helped Post fulfil his vision as they recruited Future, Halsey, Meek Mill, SZA, and the legendary Ozzy Osbourne to pull off this successful album. Also, Spider-Man fans will also be satisfied to hear “Sunflower,” Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’s anthem on this record. I think Post is setting himself up very nicely in the recording industry and I am looking forward to seeing what he does next. B+

Tracks to Download: “Allergic,” “Circles,” “Die for Me,” & “Sunflower.”

Longtime Jake’s Take friends, Collabro, released new music a cover of Coldplay’s “Fix You,” to commemorate the announcement of their fifth studio album: Love Like This. (Video property of BMG Rights Management)

“Fix You” by Collabro

Longtime friends of Jake’s Take, Collabro, just announced that they will release their fifth studio album: Love Like This. This is a significant departure for Matt, Michael, Thomas, and Jamie as the Britain’s Got Talent: the Champions participants normally record Broadway and film songs. I think the quartet struck gold with their impeccable take on Coldplay’s “Fix You.” Their harmonies are stronger than ever and they have not lost their innate ability to grab listeners’ heartstrings. A

Rence’s “I know” showcases his vision for a longtime career in the recording industry. (Music video property of Epic Records)

“I Know” by Rence

New York City-based artist Rence is getting ready to drop his debut EP: Fall 2019. His second single off of the record, “I Know.” The musical genre blending singer-songwriter’s latest jam is an another heartbreaking track that talks about being dumped. When it is not surrounded by synth pop modules, Rence’s crisp voice could remind listeners of a blue-eyed soul singer. I cannot wait to listen to Fall 2019, which Epic Records confirmed that it will drop on Sept. 20. A

Let It Be Me” by Steve Aoki & The Backstreet Boys

Two of my favorite music acts came together for one epic collaboration. EDM DJ and producer- extraordinaire Steve Aoki released a new single with the Backstreet Boys. With writing credits from Teddy Geiger, Jake Torrey, and Aoki himself, “Let It Be Me” lets the Backstreet Boys shine bright in a way that would take fans back to their Millennium days. It was one spectacular song and it is the best way to start the 2019 fall season. A+

Artists to Watch

Jake’s Take’s Artists to Watch is back with a performer  that I believe can shake up the recording industry.

Aitch’s AitcH20 is going to be a major game changer for the music industry. (Album cover property of Epic Records)

AitcH20 by Aitch

Rapper Aitch is dominating the United Kingdom and is looking ready to dominate North America. When I first heard Aitch’s beats, my jaw dropped. I felt like I was listening to Machine Gun Kelly’s younger brother. AitcH20 showcases impeccable beats and superb music production that captured the attention of music heavyweights such as Ed Sheeran and Robbie Williams. Also, keep an ear out for his collaborators: Tyreezy, ZieZie, Mo$tack and Steel Banglez, who are featured throughout the album. I think Aitch is onto something and I believe that he will amass a massive US following. A-

Tracks to Download: “What’s Next,” “Already,” “Buss Down,” & “Taste (Make It Shake).”

I do not own any of the music clips that are featured in this article. They belong to the artists and their respective record labels.

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar