Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews: Week of Feb. 11, 2022

Artists to Watch:

Jake’s Take’s Artists to Watch is back! Here are the recording artists and bands that are looking to shake up the music world.

BEAM’s ALIEN showcases the next generation of hip-hop. (Album cover property of Epic Records)


Epic Records-signed rapper BEAM dropped his first studio album: ALIEN. The Grammy-nominated performer has collaborated with Kanye West, Maroon 5, MIA, Migos, and Skrillex. Also, BEAM composed music for Rihanna’s 2020 Savage x Fenty fashion show. The 16 track debut album features Jorja Smith, Justin Bieber, Vory, and Zacari.  BEAM brilliantly blends R&B and hip-hop effortlessly. ALIEN is a strong debut record, and I could see this album be considered heavily for the 2022-2023 awards season. B+/A- 


“I Have Given You the Moon – Live” by Peach Martine 

American Idol alum and TikTok sensation Peach Martine released a live recording of her single: “I Have Given You the Moon.” I am in awe of the Miami-based singer-songwriter’s voice. I loved hearing her upper vocal register and those gut-punch lyrics blew me away. 

“Honest” by Peking Duk featuring Slayyter

Australian EDM duo Peking Duk teamed up with US Hyperpop singer Slayyyter for a dance-pop anthem. Reuben Styles and Adam Hyde make up the duo, and I am in awe of their sound. EDM fans will be immediately captivated by “Honest” at the song’s start. Slayyyter slayed the vocals, while the song’s production reminds me of classic David Guetta and Zedd. I cannot wait to see what Peking Duk does next! 

“Hello Dreamer Baby” by the Royal Foundry

The Royal Foundry is a Canadian band fronted by Jared and Beth, specializing in blending alternative music with dream pop and rock. Their latest single, “Hello Dreamer Baby,” is a splendid song. Listeners will be satisfied with the hooky chorus and the superb production. B+ 

“This Summer’s Day” by Sitting on Stacy

Southern California trio Sitting on Stacy rounds out this edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews! The Let’s Get It! Records and Republic Records-signed trio consists of lead vocalist and guitarist Hoyt Yeatman, bassist and vocalist Kyle Heart, and drummer Trevor Smith. When I first heard “This Summer’s Day,” it reminded me of the Beach Boys’ beach rock combined with 5 Seconds of Summer’s pop-rock sounds. “This Summer’s Day” perfectly transports listeners to California, and I am looking forward to seeing what this trio does next. A- 

Please consider heading to PayPal to help support my platform and keep Jake’s Take running!

Pages: 1 2

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar