JT’s New Music Reviews: Week of April 22, 2022

Jake's Take Bitmoji
Welcome to the latest edition of “Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews” for 2022. (Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

Happy #NewMusicFriday! We got a lot of new music to unpack, so let’s get this party started!

Jewel’s Freewheelin’ Woman is an absolutely amazing album! (Album cover property of Words Matter Media)

Freewheelin’ Woman by Jewel

It is an exciting time to be a Jewel fan! She dominated The Masked Singer: Season Six as the Queen of Hearts and recently on the American Song ContestThe “Foolish Games” singer-songwriter recently released her thirteenth studio album: Freewheelin’ Woman. Jewel recruited songwriters Steve Poltz, Dave Bassett, Grant Phillip Michaels, Sam S. Hollander, and Tommee Profitt to co-write the songs. The album also features support from Darius Rucker and Train. Freewheelin’ Woman showcases Jewel at her finest. I hope this record is nominated for many music awards because, in a world of TikTok stars and wannabees, Jewel remains one of the top recording artists in the game. 

Tracks to Download: “Long Way ‘Round,” “Dancing Slow,” “Alibis,” “Grateful,” “Almost” & “Dance Sing Laugh Love.”

Orville Peck continues his journey on becoming one of the hottest country music artists on the planet with Bronco. (Album cover property of Columbia Records)

Bronco by Orville Peck 

Over the past few months, I have fallen in love with Orville Peck’s music. I became a fan of his work when I first heard his haunting cover of Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way.” On April 8, he dropped his sophomore album: Bronco. What impressed me the most about the “Summertime” singer-songwriter was that he wrote a bulk of 15 tracks solo. He did receive some support from Chris Stracey, Tobias Jesso, Jr., Kyle Connolly, Duncan Jay Hennings, and Bria Salmena on four songs. Bronco has the potential to be one of 2022’s top country albums, thanks to producer Jay Joyce and Orville’s superb vocals. Bravo, Orville! B+ 

Tracks to Download: “Daytona Sand,” “Outta Time,” “Lafayette,” &  “Kalahari Down.”

After releasing blockbuster singles, Swedish House Mafia releases an average debut album: Paradise Again. (Album cover property of Republic Records)

Paradise Again by Swedish House Mafia

EDM supergroup Swedish House Mafia (Axwell, Steve Angello, and Sebastian Ingrosso) have released music together off and on since 2008. But for the first time, the “Don’t You Worry Child” trio dropped their debut album. Paradise Again is a 17-song track album that features an all-star group of collaborators such as ASAP Rocky, Fred Again, Ty Dolla $ign, and The Weeknd. However, the album is a mixed bag. There are some fantastic songs, such as The Weeknd collaboration “Moth to a Flame” and Ty Dolla $ign and 070 Shake’s “Lifetime,” but I was bored at times. I wished that the trio left some of the “Meh!” songs on the cutting room floor because it brought down Paradise Again’s potential of being an excellent album. C/C+ 

Tracks to Download: “Time,” “Heaven Takes You Home,” “Moth to A Flame,” & “Heaven.”

“About Damn Time” by Lizzo

Two days before she returned to Saturday Night LiveLizzo dropped her first single in two years. The “Cuz I Love You” singer-songwriter teamed up with Ricky Reed, R. City, Blake Slatkin, Larry Price, Malcolm McLauren, Stephen Hague, and Ronald Larkins for an addictive piece of ear candy. “About Damn Time” is a great funky track from start to finish that could be the first song of the summer! 

“Don’t Think Jesus” by Morgan Wallen 

Morgan Wallen has had a roller coaster ride so far this decade. His latest single, “Don’t Think Jesus,” is a powerful track that sounds autobiographical. There are not a lot of male recording artists that showcase their soul, and I was highly impressed with the country music star wearing his heart on his sleeve in this song. B+

“Running Back (Trying to Talk to You)” by Train

For the first time in five years, Train is releasing an album full of original material. The “Drive By” band’s latest single, “Running Back (Trying to Talk to You),” that lead vocalist Pat Monahan, keyboardist Jerry Becker, and drummer Matt Musty co-wrote. This single reminds me of “Play That Song,” but it edges closer to a jam band sound. I am looking forward to hearing what comes next for the band. 

Head over to the second page for this edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews!

Pages: 1 2

Copyright 2020 Jacob Elyachar